13 Comments
Oct 21, 2022Liked by Martin B. Justesen

Well...I have almost played either blitz or bullet several times this week...and then thought about tracking that time, and decided not to! :)

Expand full comment
author

Well done, Chris! 👏🏻

Expand full comment
Oct 21, 2022Liked by Martin B. Justesen

Tracking has given me a nice motivation boost. Now that I actually see how much time I use I want to use it wisely on my planned chess study. The book clubs are also awesome idea!

Expand full comment
author

I have the same experience :) Now we just have to make it a habit 💪🏻

Expand full comment
Oct 22, 2022Liked by Martin B. Justesen

Several times have started and then paused / stalled Chess journey due to various reasons. There was noway to pull up.

This time its different. It feels good to see so many similar ones dedicated to Chess study regardless. Even its just a week, saw so many cycles of effort going on. Even comments, questions were posted - keeping the motivation up across.

My own effort started well, slowly adding tiny batches of time to move forward.

Expand full comment
author

Really happy to hear that! Keep it up, Govardhan :)

Expand full comment
Oct 21, 2022Liked by Martin B. Justesen

I don't have much to add. I'm loving it for pretty much all the reasons mentioned above. It's great to feel part of a community with similar interests and goals.

Expand full comment
Oct 21, 2022Liked by Martin B. Justesen

It is so nice being part of a group helping each other to do something we all value but find hard. Love it!

Expand full comment
Oct 21, 2022Liked by Martin B. Justesen

I feel like I belong to a group of chess players who are motivated and dedicated, it is very good for me too

Expand full comment
author

Yes! It seems like we have attracted a really good base of people :) and thanks for the chat yesterday!

Expand full comment

It is good to be in a peer group of motivated people. This really helps me to study seriously. Maybe, I finally succeed in finishing at least the first book of the Yusupov series.

Expand full comment
author

That is a great first victory 🍾👏🏻

Expand full comment
Oct 24, 2022Liked by Martin B. Justesen

Hi all, thank you again Martin for organizing this group! I've been playing on Chess.com, doing the daily puzzle and at least ten or so puzzles per day plus at least one five minute game (and a few 1, 2, and 3 day games). I have a chess coach that I meet with once a week for about an hour or so and that's been wonderful–he's encouraging me to pay attention to tempo this week. Oh and if anyone wants to play online, I'd love to have some new chess friends to practice with! I'm @halfwright on Chess.com :)

Expand full comment