24 Comments
author

1) What went well? I had 3 good study sessions at my new chess study place. Went over two games in botvinnik’s game collection and did one calculation session.

2) What did not go well?

I only practiced for 2,5 hours due to sickness and working on my new checkmate book

3) What will I do this week

I will start working on getting ready for OTB with more calculation training

Expand full comment
Jan 16, 2023Liked by Martin B. Justesen

1) what went well?

- Weekly progress - 3.06 hours

- Able to put up strong solid focused hours on weekend.

- Bit of OTB game review.

- Re-started bit of Yusupov series and Positional Understanding course.

2) what didn't go well?

- Still holding onto the warmup exercises on daily basis. Couldn't make further effort most of the days.

- As it happens, most of the priority work is done in morning / afternoon / evening. By night time, its left to Chess and hardly any time left even if energy is there.

- May need to Block the time in late afternoon / evening and make it happen.

3) what will you do for the next week?

- Start with Warmup exercises for 1 small unit of time [5-15 minutes] per day [OTB or on-screen with writing on Book or Doc]

- Positional Understanding course - Study 1 Lesson / Task - for 1 unit of time [15-20 minutes] - 2-3 times for the week

- Build up - Study/Solve 3 puzzles with deep calculation / analysis - for 1 unit of time [15 minutes] - 2-3 times for the week

- Play ONE Blitz and Rapid game each with deep focus - for the week

- Analyze ONE Blitz and Rapid game recently played - for the week

- Analyze recently played ONE OTB game - for the week

Expand full comment
Jan 16, 2023Liked by Martin B. Justesen

1 What went well?

Got back into training after holidays. Played first rated OTB of the year. Much stronger opponent but got a nice game to annotate

2. What didn't go well?

Still little bit lost without structured plan and need to do more tactics again.

3 Try to start the chessdojo plan finally to get some structure on my study

Expand full comment
Jan 17, 2023Liked by Martin B. Justesen

1) What went well?

I am more focused, and understand that it's not good to spread myself so thin.

I need to have one or two focuses and go deep and hard with them.

That is the only way to progress properly then turning my wheels endlessly.

2) What did not go well?

I still have trouble concentrating for long period of times (I would think it is because of age or because I spent at least 25 years studying two masters and three languages, etc., etc.).

3) What will I do this week

- Tactics review of the 1001 beginner tactics series on chessable

- End games studies of 101 endgames you must know on chessable

I feel I have spent too much time on openings, and variations, where it might be better to spend a lot more time on endgames since that is where I seem to lose most often.

Expand full comment

1. What went Well?

I got a draw against a much higher rated player in an OTB classical game .

2. What didn't go well ?

In the same game I missed an opportunity to win the game by not fully believing in myself to calculate a line fully

3. What will I do this week

I will continue to grind out tactics and also focus on my response to 1.d4 as I'm playing black in next week's league game 🎯

Expand full comment
Jan 24, 2023Liked by Martin B. Justesen

What went well? I will skip this one, nothing went well.

What didn’t go well? Hmm, the second of two weeks on tour without much time to study or play. I almost made 5hrs but it was scattered.

I’m back to a routine. Lots of tactics, I finished the Art of Attack, I’m hoping to get some traction on the Aagaard book this week.

Expand full comment
Jan 16, 2023Liked by Martin B. Justesen

1) What went well?

I did a lot of tactics training and that always feels like an accomplishment. I started playing rapid games again and analyzing every one in a lichess study. And I matched my peak rating at 2102 just yesterday.

2) What did not go well? 

I had some tiltish sessions with blitz. I kept barely above the 10 hour study mark due to a bit of exhaustion from the prior week’s 20 hour count. I have decided I need to get more sleep to play and study better.

3) What will I do this week

There’s a rapid tournament at the club. I’ll be attending and competing. I’ll keep playing rapid games and continue studying Rubinstein and an hour of tactics training per day!

Expand full comment

Hi Mike. Great questions. I was generally weak on calculation, and it helped a lot with that. It trained me to look for forcing moves, no matter how ridiculous-seeming at first. Having it broken down by tacitcal motif really helped narrow it down. It completely transformed my ability to visualize tactics (mine and my opponent's) over the board, and I almost entirely credit the book for my 200-pt rating gain. I can't recommend it highly enough. It helped me to have a coach assign problems though, and he would quiz me. Otherwise, it probably would have sat on the shelf with the other chess books I will definitely maybe someday read.

Expand full comment

1) What went well?

Just the feeling that im getting better at calculation, i was able to solve some hard tactics

2) What didnt go well?

Wasnt able to put is as many hours as last week

3) What will I do this week?

Try to get more hours and try dividing the training is 2 sessions

Expand full comment

1. What went well?

I got a new coach and finished 1001 Winning Combinations. I also won my club game as Black.

2. What didn't go well?

I didn't meet my goal in Evaluation and Opening work. I'll make that a focus this week.

3. This week?

Complete assignment by coach. Focus on openings for Wednesday's club game.

Expand full comment

What went well? This week I went through a few positions in Think Like a Grandmaster, I've done 16 puzzles so far from the 40 "main" puzzles I'm scoring a little better than my current elo would suggest but some of the the puzzles elude me. I just didn't have the move on my radar even after a bit of a think. The concept of falsifying your move is an important take away from this week. I'll be happy to write a post on it if anyone is interested.

What did not go well? Chess.com had free puzzles and I have a free account so I took that opportunity to play a lot of puzzles and tank my puzzle rating. I would try and play the intuitive move and not spend the proper amount of time to find solutions. It was bad training and bad for my self esteem. Having each puzzle Matter is and no chance to go back has made my puzzle rating go higher, and not taking puzzles seriously leads to no improvement. I have considered buying a membership to get more puzzles but I've found the flaw is that it "cheapens" the value of the daily puzzles for me.

What I will do this week: I"m at 2764 for puzzles in Polgar's book I'll aim to reach 2800 puzzles done. That's 36 puzzles or 7 a day if I'm working just Monday through Friday. I will also 3 positions a day in Think like a super grandmaster. Should be an hour a day.

Expand full comment